Charlotte, Revisited

Long, long ago in a land far away I posted this photos to my Instagram

20140714-222307.jpg

And I’ve finally finished my second Charlotte skirt! (Here’s my first one)

20140714-222446.jpg

As you can see its a lovely black, red and yellow wool tartan. I inherited this fabric from a colleague at my old job’s mother-in-law along with a hand full of other wool tartans, lining for Africa and zippers of all colours and lengths.

20140714-222903.jpg

This was one of my first forays into tartan fabrics and matching seams. I did a great job of matching the horizontal lines … but alas didn’t think it through completely and mismatched the vertical stripes. What a fail right?! However, I’m an accentuate the positive kinda person and this fabric was free so its all good.

20140714-223110.jpg

Confession: I have had some issues with how to style with this skirt. Because it’s high-waisted and I’m a busty lass I’m really struggling! If I wear something tight I look ridiculous, and if I wear something loose it goes all billow-y and poofy. I’m thinking I need some cropped tops … All suggestions greatly appreciated! The top I’m wearing here has lots of layers so it sort of looks cropped.

20140716-151207-54727553.jpg

There isn’t a great deal more to say about this skirt except that I love it and feel pretty hipster-chic when I wear it.

20140716-155517-57317213.jpg

Also – Project Indie is still open! If you are a sewist about to launch your line of patterns email us and we will hook you up!

6 thoughts on “Charlotte, Revisited”

  1. Your skirt is gorgeous! I love how you’ve used the tartan fabric. For a cropped shirt try Named Patterns Kanerva Button Back Shirt, I just made myself one and it goes really well with my charlotte skirt 🙂

    Like

  2. Love this! I have been working on tartan recently too so I know how hard it is to match everything up… especially because our bodies aren’t exactly straight lines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

