A Laurel, a Sale and a Chocolate Fish

Hello lovely sewists! I have been watching in awe as all the entries for the Monthly Stitch‘s competitions have rolled in. In case you’ve been living under a rock the Monthly Stitch have been hosting a month of competitions for Indie Pattern Month. Although this is the last week you still have four days to enter the last round – Indie Fan Girl – by submitting a post of of you wearing two patterns by the same designer. Also there are tonnes of prizes!

20140627-115818-43098793.jpg

So… I made a dress! This is the Laurel by Colette. This pattern has been phenomenally popular despite it’s simplicity so I had to try it out. I was not disappointed. It only took me one night to put together (whilst binge watching Underage and Pregnant) and it required minimal adjustments.

20140627-115819-43099753.jpg

I made this dress out of a thick double knit, synthetic/ wool blend by Kate Sylvester. The fabric is what ‘makes’ this dress for me. Because it’s a knit there’s enough stretch to avoid putting the zipper in the back as I can easily pull it over my head without it. But it’s pretty firm and essentially one-way stretch so it still has a bit of shape.

20140627-115822-43102086.jpg

As you can see there are a few things that are not quite right about this dress. Namely the darts. They are too high on me. I had the same issue when I made the Bridgette dress (free pattern!) by Simple Sews. I need to get in the habit on doing FBAs and making muslins, however this dress is still an absolute staple. It’s such a simple style that I wore it with a blazer to work one day, and then with a leather jacket to a party that night.

20140627-115820-43100373.jpg

In case you were wondering, I bought the brooch from the Salvation Army on Dominion Road and the hipster hat beongs to my sister. She is much cooler than me. So can anyone guess where I am? If you can comment below and I will send you a chocolate fish (for real!) Here’s a clue:

20140627-115821-43101141.jpg

Also – as part of the Monthly Stitch‘s Indie Pattern Month I am offering 15% off all patterns in my store. This includes Sewaholic, Colette, Cake, Victory and By Hand London. Sale ends Monday 🙂

20140627-124409-45849392.jpg

8 thoughts on “A Laurel, a Sale and a Chocolate Fish”

  1. Hi – yep Wintergardens at the Domain…. Dress looks lovely. I have made a couple of laurels and have found even without a stretch you can pretty much leave the zip out.

    Like

  2. Love the dress! I wish I could not get distracted and actually make more than just a jumper and a couple of skirts for myself each year. I always ‘plan’ on making something cool like this.. and then its another season, a different project going on!

    Like

  3. The first commenter beat me to it but it looks like you’re at the Wintergardens in the Domain! Beautiful fabric, love the colour!

    Like

  4. I think you are the Wintergarden too. The domain is one of the Auckland places I really miss now I am living in the Bay of Plenty. I hope you had a coffee from the kiosk while you were there 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

