The Satisfaction of Simple Sewing

20140525-145159-53519629.jpg

We’re nearing the end of the university semester. It’s that time of year when everything is due, dinner is usually toast and Friday nights are spent at the computer rooms. This is also a great time of year to embark on some Simple Sewing. Stress levels are already pretty high so procrasta-sewing needs to be easy and enjoyable. This week I’ve made two Renfrews (to join my other two Renfrews from 2013). The first is made from DKNY cotton knit that bizarrely stretches on a 90 degree angle, if you can imagine that. Because of this I folded the fabric in a triangle before I cut it. I know – weird! It has long sleeves and a round neck.

20140525-152517-55517030.jpg

The second is made from white merino knit, has 3/4 sleeves and the grain was normal. The fabric is fairly sheer so I doubled it all up (apart from the waistband) and sewed the four layers all at once. I was also a bit short on fabric so I cut the back pieces separately, rather than on the fold and serged them together. I wear this Renfrew as a jumper mostly. Both fabrics were bought from The Fabric Store, way back when it was called Global Fabrics.

20140525-145201-53521390.jpg

The Renfrew is my go-to pattern. It is simple, I can sew it using just my serger (which I did) and I know that I’ll get lots of wear out of it. Basically it’s all wins!

What is your favourite easy pattern?

2 thoughts on “The Satisfaction of Simple Sewing”

  1. I’m a big fan of simple sewing! I have a 1970s dress pattern I feel like I’ve made about a million times – also I LOVE the Laurel pattern by Colette Pattern. I’ve made it so many times.

    Like

  2. Love this. I have a simple pattern I made a jumper out of and it gets comments. It fits so well, and was so ridiculously simple to make. And the same.. completely made using the overlocker. I think its a knitwit pattern from the 80s haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

