Behind the Scenes: March

March has been such a busy month at Dresses & Me HQ. I’m getting straight back into blogging and creating strategies to grow the shop now that I’m back from devouring churros, fawning over art and swimming in the Mediterranean. So what have I been up to?

The Blog

In March I starting writing a new series call A Complete Beginner’s Guide to Sewing. In the first post I talked about how to choose a pattern for your first sewing project and in the second post I offered some thoughts on where to start with fabrics. If you’re anything like me you’re self-taught and spend a lot of time wondering what the ‘correct’ way of doing something is. I’m hoping this series will offer some help for new sew-ers. I have many ideas for upcoming posts but if you have a burning question or topic send me an email [penny at dressesandme .com]

20140402-132257.jpg

This month I made a pair of Pleated Pants and two Georgia Dresses (here and here). I was pretty stoked that my FBA turned out well as this was one of my first attempts at pattern editing – and you know what? It worked out and it wasn’t as painful as I had feared! I also cut out my Simple Sews Batwing Dress. I am currently sewing this together…

March also mean Meet Up! The Auckland Sewists’ Collective meet up at Tasca Cafe and had a riot. You can join our Facebook group to fine out about the next one here.

 

The Store

This month I officially launched Dresses & Me’s new website and logo. And because I am always looking for feedback on the store I developed a survey! I’m such a geek but I just can’t help it. On the survey you can tell me which patterns you’d like in the store and any other feedback (and you can do it anonymously if you prefer). So far I’m getting a clear indication that New Zealanders are keen to have Colette Patterns in the store next. So you’ll (hopefully) be pleased to read I’m working pretty hard to make this happen! Watch this space!

I have not be able to move the discount codes over to the new site yet. This is a very time consuming task as it requires manually entering randomly generated codes, creating individual discounts. If you want to make a purchase  using yours please send me an email. I hope to have this completed by the end of the month.

20140402-133254.jpg

I was also really happy to be able to restock the whole Sewaholic range this month. Tasia’s latest design, the Gabriola Skirt, is a maxi skirt with a fitted waist and hips. It is very flattering and gloriously floaty for this great extended summer we’re having in. I also created a new patterns page so that all the newest patterns are in the same place.

What else did I do? I had a sale on all Victory and Cake Patterns and you guys pretty much bought up the whole stock! I will be placing a new order with Victory when Kristiann when she releases her latest pattern, Hannah (very soon). I don’t have a lot of sales (only had two since opening last June) so if you’d like to know about the next one join the mailing list here.

In March I also returned to study. I’ve previously completed a BA hons in sociology and art history, and while I enjoyed learning I felt totally burnt out by the end of the four years. This year I am studying Public Relations and I’m thoroughly enjoying it! But along with self-directed study and time management comes the inevitable procrastabaking (baking instead of writing a 4000 word literature review) and procrastaplanning (planning cool holidays or events instead of reading journal articles). These procrasta-pass-times have featured heavily in March for me. So tell me off if you see lurking around me too much on instagram!

To keep study spirits high I’ve been listening to this song heaps – enjoy!

 

14 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: March”

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a good–but busy–month! Good luck with your studies, wedding planning, and the store. Hopefully you find time to relax a bit, eh? =)

    PS: I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! You can check it out at my blog (http://lifeinamadshouse.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/the-liebster-award/) if you want. I think you were the first person (or one of them!) to ever comment on my blog, and I’ve enjoyed following along with what you’re working on ever since. Thanks for being awesome!

    Like

  2. Wow it sounds as though you are well and truly Back! Congrats on getting engaged and returning to study and moving things up with Dresses &Me…. I hope you remember to eat, sleep and walk in our autumnal sunshine?

    Like

  3. So glad I’m not the only one who engages in procrastabaking ;-). Since you mentioned the lemon tarts (which sound really yummy!), last week I tackled an Italian lemon cake with about a million steps (I further complicated it because I wanted to package it in jars and do multiple layers). Delicious! And it took forever (which was just what I was looking for ;-).)

    Congrats on your engagement, Penny!

    Like

  4. Exciting news about the engagement Penny, congratulations! Are you going to be one of those talented people who sews their own dress?

    Like

Leave a Reply

