Fashion at the Museum

I went to  ‘Selling Dreams – 100 Years of Fashion Photography’ at the Auckland Museum yesterday. A very good exhibition. Most of the images I had never seen before so it was great to be exposed to something new. I don’t usually read the blurbs next to the art when I am wondering through, I prefer just to take in the image. But the written information in this exhibition was historical, succinct and interesting – I read every word! Well worth a visit if you’re in the area.

IMG_2808

I couldn’t take any photos in the exhibition but this quote appeared at the very end… I couldn’t agree more Vidal. Well said! These words completely sum up for me why I continue to make my own clothes and get so much joy and satisfaction out of it!

IMG_2809

Why do you sew and make your own clothes?

5 thoughts on “Fashion at the Museum”

    1. Good on you! We don’t all want to be the same as each other do we? I love Auckland Museum, actually most museums are pretty cool! Yes that’s me in the pic. I didn’t make the dress but I am thinking I do need to copy the pattern and make one with different fabric. I got it ages ago from Misses Room in Wellington.

      Like

Leave a Reply

