2nd Secret Santa – Squared

I decided it was easiest to give my Secret Santa recipients  a slip dress each. That way I could tailor it to their tastes so that hopefully they were really unique gifts. This is my second dress – made for my brother’s girlfriend, Steph.

My Mum showed me this top, basically a square with some arm holes and a neck hole. Simplest style I have ever seen! I traced a quick pattern, with a few alterations and cut the fabric out, a lovely light fabric with mini hearts all over it which I got from Centrepoint Fabrics in Auckland.

IMG_2729 IMG_2703

Again I didn’t know what size my SS recipient was so I made the pattern quite big and added ties at the back so it could be worn tight around the waist, for a more fitted look. Or alternatively loose and draping.

IMG_2715             IMG_2709

IMG_2717                  IMG_2719

This was honestly the quickest and easiest pattern I have ever sewn. The hardest part was sewing the facing around the collar. And the best part, it doesn’t actually look like a square sack once it’s on the figure.

IMG_2720

 

 

 

 

 

 

Has anyone else sewn one of these square dresses or tops before? Or a pattern of equal simplicity?

I am very keen to keep making this pattern. I can churn new outfits out in 2 hours tops (including the trip to the fabric store)!!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “2nd Secret Santa – Squared”

    1. I was admittedly sewing at my Mum’s set up sewing station at here house. It makes things way quicker having the overlocker, sewing machine and ironing board all there waiting. And also I’m not the tidiest sewer in the world haha. I prefer to get things made and wearing them then labouring!

      Like

Leave a Reply

