Secret Santa

I made this pattern for a simple shift dress for secret santa at my work. IMG_2672

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Does anyone else make their own patterns?

I had to guess what size my boss was. It would have been pretty obvious if I started measuring her up during morning tea! She tried it on straight away and it fit! Phew. Here is the outcome.

IMG_2683 IMG_2684 IMG_2686

 

The fabric was what really made this dress. A cotton/silk blend from The Fabric Shop. I think the most important thing to consider when making something is what fabric to use. As my pattern making skills are not amazing, the beautiful fabric covered up all the indiscrepancies. I have definitely chosen the wrong fabric for a garment many times before. Luckily this time it worked out.

4 thoughts on “Secret Santa”

  1. This has got to be in the Top 5 Secret Santa presents ever given. Far better than a box of chocolates. This is personalised for the recipient and took time and effort. What a thoughtful gift!

    Like

  2. That’s a pretty brave move to make a dress by guessing the size, so glad it worked out and your boss liked it! Of course how could she not like it in that beautiful fabric?

    Like

  3. This pattern definatley demanded a simple shape or that amazing print would have been lost. Like you, I draft my own patterns, but I started by doing a Com Ed course in pattern making in Te Atatu, which really gave me a good basis for drafting more complicated stuff – well worth it.

    Like

    1. Cool. Yeah I learnt a bit of pattern making at high school. Now I use a very rough and ready method of tracing an already existing garment I have. But sometimes I quite like the process, you never know what you will end up with!

      Like

Leave a Reply

