What I Do: Weight Substitutes

A few weeks ago, when I was attempting to cut out my Papercut Patterns’ Pleated Pants pattern (completed!), I was faced with tricky situation. I was cutting through the pattern, made out of a heavier, more durable paper, as well as  two layers of denim. The paper and fabric were too thick to pin accurately so I used some glasses to weigh them down.

20130619-122850.jpg

It worked quite well and I thought it looked quite pretty too! I’m currently making up another PatternRunway 1302 – the Easy Kimono Dress. I used the same ‘technique’ (could you call it that?) when cutting the fabric, even though I’m using a faille fabric this time. It’s just so much quicker than pinning!

20130619-122950.jpgHow do you work with heavier materials? Do you pin or weigh?

17 thoughts on “What I Do: Weight Substitutes”

      1. I was wondering because with the glasses, do they shift at all when you’re cutting around them? Personally, I’m more used to using scissors, but I occasionally use a rotary cutter, especially if the fabric isn’t slippery or lightweight (silk crepe de chine and chiffon come to mind).

        Like

  1. I have some wooden pattern weights my Dad made for me. They are covered in fabric and work wonders. I saw the page about Auckland bloggers, I finally found another one! Every NZ blogger seems to be from Wellington…

    Like

  2. Some of the other members of our Koru Couture sewing group made a whole lot of these triangular pyramid pattern weights to put in the goodie bags for the upcoming Australian Sewing Guild National Convention which will be held in Auckland in September/October. Unfortunately I missed out on the working day we had to make them due to some other commitments I had for that day, but the other were saying that they turned out really well. I was thinking of filling them with lead shot (which could be tricky to obtain in small quantities) but they used garnet granules (used for weighting dolls and teddy bears).

    Like

  3. I used to use pins, because I kind of thought that’s what you were “meant to do” – but then I did a course with the Dreamstress and she taught me the wonder of pattern weights (or using whatever you have lying around to hold down your pattern) and I was hooked!

    Like

  4. I use tumbled semiprecious stones to weigh when I can. Sometimes pins are needed, but it’s so much easier both on me and the fabric to just put weights on them. I’ve seen “professional” weights (they come in a set) for fabric cutting, but I think my semiprecious stones and your glasses are much prettier 🙂

    Like

  5. I was taught to pin, but I much prefer to weigh. It’s faster/easier, and it doesn’t rip holes in the delicate tissue when you try to pull it off and realize you missed a pin…or maybe I’m the only one that sort of thing happens to. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

