Not Knitting ‘Nough

About a wee while ago I post this photo to my Instagram. I’m making a knit 4 purl 4 scarf that I’m embarrassed to say I’m using a Patons pattern for. It merely says cast on 72, k4, p4, continue for two metres, cast off. In truth I, somewhat ambitiously bought the pattern book in the hope of making a jumper. As with many things in life, as I have discovered, you need to start simple. So I’m making a scarf instead.

20130510-083318.jpg

I was so proud of myself racing along with my new found interest. But the truth is that after we came back from holiday … well I haven’t made much progress at all.

20130510-115755.jpg

It think in a lot of ways I see sewing and knitting quite differently. I set time aside for sewing, I sew in my sewing room and it’s almost entirely solitary. Knitting, on the other hand, I expect to be able to do whilst doing something else, chatting to my sister, watching TV, eating breakfast.

How do you knit? Are you a social or solitary knitter?

PS. Don’t forget to vote on my facebook poll – what colour do you think would make a good Minoru?

13 thoughts on “Not Knitting ‘Nough”

  1. I knit socially, I knit alone, I just knit. And I try to bring something just about everywhere I go. I never know when I’m going to have some downtime to be productive on a project. Too bad the sewing machine can’t fit in my bag. -Nizzy

    Like

  2. Non-progressive knitting while travelling is all too familiar with me πŸ˜€ I knit (best) only when I’m in front of the TV in the evenings. No TV, no knitting πŸ™‚ But that also means I tend to lose the programme’s story very quickly, all due to knitting πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I knit when I watch telly – I get very itchy just having to sit still, so knitting makes it much more bearable for me. I know it sounds very ironic πŸ˜‰ I also knit on trains and car journeys… and once on a plane. Apparently, you can take bamboo needles through!

    Like

    1. I recently flew to Queenstown and my partner insisted that I wouldn’t be able to take my metal needles with me. He said that they could be lethal. Well they certainly wouldn’t be in my hands lol!

      Like

      1. We are now allowed to take knitting on the plane. I flew to Queensland for xmas and knitted the whole flight. Presumably the airlines have made peace with the terrorist knitting circles!

        Like

  4. I’m the same – sewing is for solitary times, knitting is only done when doing something else (usually when friends are visiting – gives me something to do with my hands while hanging around chatting). πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I’m knitting as I read this. I keep my knitting down the side of the couch beside my favourite spot so I can reach down and grab it when I’m watching a film, waiting for dinner to cook, the kettle to boil or reading emails. I’m knitting a jumper for my daughter at the moment and onto the last sleeve. Next will be back onto the knitting machine, my favourite way to knit clothing as it’s so much faster. πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. He he he. Please don’t hate me if you just HAVE to have one. πŸ˜‰ I have an Empisal brand one, probably from the 70’s. In fact, I have 2. πŸ˜€ There are manual ones, like mine or the newer powered models. I like having things that don’t rely on electricity or fossil fuels though as it will still be of use when coal and oil run out. πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

