Minoru on the Horizon?

The weather is truly crummy here in Auckland. It’s cold, raining 90% of the time and it’s getting dark by 5 o’clock. But all is not lost! There are some super awesome things about winter too – hot chocolates, woolen socks and Sewaholic’s Minoru Jacket:

Photo: all this rain has got me thinking about the Minoru Jacket - I can see it on the horizon!

Full disclosure: I bought this pattern a while ago and have been trying to build up the courage to make it. I’m a real novice when it comes to outwear. There are so many amazing Minorus on the Sewaholic Flickr Pool and I’m feeling super inspired … but also intimidated!

I need your help! I’m not sure a) what sort of material content/ fibers I should be looking for in a fabric – how will i know if it will be waterproof?! and b) what colour to make a jacket in Head over to my facebook page and you can vote on your colour choice! I will announce the colour in my next post. You have three days to vote and this will be binding eeek.

Should I be regretting this already?

7 thoughts on “Minoru on the Horizon?”

  1. Don’t be too scared to make it – I was terrified of making it, and it turned out brilliantly (I didn’t even muslin). It’s a lot of steps, but I used Tasia’s sewalong, and it’s literally like having somebody holding your hand. I love mine so much, I’m now considering a second one…

    Like

  2. You might also check into a fabric called Supplex, I made some pants for my son with it when he was young, that stuff was awesome!! It’s water resistant, wind-breaker type fabric that with a fleece lining could be really nice. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

