Nostalgia: Plaid Apron

Often, in this blog, I talk about how I’m very new to sewing. I appologise, but that’s not strictly accurate. While it is true that I’ve only really taken sewing seriously for about a year I had actually been sewing for a long time before that. I sewed badges on my Girl Guide and Brownie sashes, did small cross-stitches and learned to knit very badly too. And before you think I’ve been leading you horribly astray I’d like to mention that before January 2012 I hadn’t used a sewing machine in at least 6-ish years.

So, with that in mind, I’d like to share with you one of the first things I ever sewed:

20130123-083636.jpg

This blue plaid apron was probably made circa January 2004, when I was about 14 or 15. I’m guessing that it was made in January, because this is when we have the long school holidays in New Zealand.

20130123-083616.jpg

I used newpaper to trace around an apron that we had in the cupboard at home and added an abritrary amount on the edges for a seam allowance. Unbeknowest to me, I made a pattern!

It looks to be made out of plain old quilting cotton. Check out that topstitching! There was definately something wrong with the tension here…

20130123-083532.jpg

I even included a facing! Go 14 year old me!

20130123-083552.jpg

I clearly wasn’t too hung up on things like accuracy and neatness…

20130123-083605.jpg

In case you’re wondering why this looks so worn out, it’s because it is. To this day my dad still proudly wears this apron when cooking.

What was the first thing you ever sewed? How did it turn out?

14 thoughts on “Nostalgia: Plaid Apron”

  1. Hi, Thank you for writing a such a beautiful and inspiring blog. I have nominated you for “The Very Inspiring Blogger” award. You are under no obligation to accept at all and there is no need to tell me your decision. If you wish to accept, my post about it is here: http://sewmuchchoice.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/home-snow-and-an-award/. Funnily enough I mention the first thing I ever made in my post…a pair of sequin flares, there were no redeeming features of them! The material was hideous and I made them so big, it put me dressmaking off for years, which is such a shame really.

    Like

    1. Wow! Thank you for the award, it’s always quiite nice to know that some people enjoy reading what I write! Gosh sequin flares sound pretty challengiing, I’ve never made any pants before and am quite intimidated by them, more specifiically, fitting them!

      Like

        1. One of my sewing aspirations for this year was to sew some pants. I thought about buying the thurlow pattern and perhaps I will later one. Lladybird has a great sewalong using the thurlow pattern so there’s lots of help there 🙂

          Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean– it’s not always how technically well you make something, it’s that you made it at all! And especially in this case, making your apron without a pattern! I love it! I taught myself to sew and knit as a child, and I well remember the ripping out, the doing it over and over until I figured it out– but more than anything, I remember the pride of wearing something I made myself.

    Like

  3. It is really sweet that your father has been making such a use of it! My first thing was probably something for my Barbie dolls, I even had tiny patterns. But the first “big” thing was an apron as well, at school. But as we used this as a good project to learn some techniques, it is actually quite well made. I don´t have a photo, but it is dark brown with huge white polka dots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

