Aspirations

I have a thing about New Years Resolutions

First, whilst I think it is a good idea to set goals and work towards making dreams a reality etc etc I really hate the phrase new years resolutions. It’s just so negative. If you think about the most popular types of NYRs they are nearly always negatively framed. Eg to quit smoking. Why don’t people say I’d like to improve my health and prolong my life therefore I’ll refrain from smoking this year? Answer: probably because it’s a lot quicker to say it the first way! So I prefer to have aspirations rather than resolutions if you follow my train of thought here.

Second, in New Zealand a lot of people, including myself, are on summer holiday over the new year so I don’t personally start thinking about things I want to achieve until about halfway through January.

So forgive me for being late to the party on this one, but I’d like to put my oar in and tell you about My New Year’s Aspirations.

Pants

This year I’d love to learn how to make a pair of pants. I’ve really only been a committed sew-er for about a year and thus far I’ve stuck to making skirts and dresses as they require a great deal less fitting than pants. In fairness I’m far more of a skirt person, which may also be a reflection of how hard it is for me to find pants I like. But like with any clothing, if it fits properly, it’s a good place to start.  

I really like Colette’s Clover pants, and they look simple enough (to the untrained eye) but I have since been put off by reviewers saying they had a lot of trouble with fitting. I’ll need to keep looking for a simple beginner pattern.

Blouses and Tops

I started this year off with a bang, completing my first ever blouse! And whilst I was very pleased with myself this is just the beginning. I would like to get the fitting a bit more accurate and a bit more feminine. In order to accomplish this I will probably need to investigate how to do a full bust adjustment or FBA as I always seem to see it written. I’ll also need to conquer the softer, floaty shirt fabrics that I have been avoiding (ever since the horror that was Pattern Runway 1302)

20130109-172123.jpg

Knitting

I know were in the middle of summer here but I’m keen to learn how to knit this year. I’ve been practicing a bit with the encouragement of two friends and the use of Phoebe’s knitting needles. Apparently practice and getting the tension right is the key (I am clearly a novice). I think I need to do a lot of research on this topic. It’s a whole new area for me but I’ve already decided that I’ll be making a cardigan for myself this winter and unsurprisingly you can probably guess that it’ll be navy blue. More on this later…

I hope your aspirations/ resolutions are going well too!

 

5 thoughts on “Aspirations”

  1. I admire anyone who can (or attempts) to knit. I have neither the skill nor the patience to do it…although i so wish I could because I see so many cool patterns that I’d love to make. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

