New Look 6035 and Bias Seam Binding

I made a top.

20120811-103930.jpg

You may have realised that this not me, this is my sister. I really like the shape of this pattern (New Look 6035) and the drape of the silk but I had to give it away because it was too small for me.

20120811-123628.jpg

Up until a week ago, when I started this top, I had avoided bias seam binding like the plague. I had to do it a little while ago when I was making my bunting, but because that’s destined to be hung up and not inspected closely I didn’t mind if if wasn’t sewn very neat. So this was the first time I had sewn bias binding on clothes.

20120811-115625.jpg

As you can see I couldn’t for the life of me get the binding to sit flat. However, as fate would have it I found this book at a book fair the next day:

20120811-121537.jpg

In the book it says that binding should be pre-shaped:

20120811-121719.jpg

So then the binding fits perfectly:

20120811-123509.jpg

So that’s how you’re meant to do it! What an epiphany!

By the way … check out my french seams, they were also a first for me.

20120811-123056.jpg

Have you had a sewing epiphany?

24 thoughts on “New Look 6035 and Bias Seam Binding”

  1. Cute top! I find bias binding a little tricky, but once you work it out, I prefer it over hemming.. especially around those little arm holes. πŸ™‚
    I am also a LOVER of French seams.. Hello, no fraying!

    Like

  2. I like the way it looks. It’s cute top. Your sister looks lovely wearing it. I always skip the bit with pre-saping the bias tape, but that’s laziness on my part. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Oops, sorry– was trying to post a comment on my phone and that tiny keyboard makes it too easy to hit the wrong button! As I was saying about invisible zippers, not only do they look more professional, they are so much easier to install; none of the stitching shows on the outside, so there’s no stress about making perfectly straight stitching lines (not my fortΓ©).

    Like

  4. One of my epiphanies: when I accidentally discovered that a shallow zigzag stitch plus a ball-point needle equals much better results when seeing with knit fabrics!

    Like

  5. Great post!
    Pinning (lot of pins), and using a walking foot can also help, especially with troublesome fabric. You certainly tackled difficult fabric and techniques all at once.
    Another technique that can help is to stay stitch the neck or armhole, and then clip the curve up to the stay stitching before sewing the bias on. That allows you to straighten the curve quite a bit. Then, when you attach the bias, you can straighten the curve and sew more of a straight line. When you fold the bias to the back side, be sure to fold perpendicular to the seam. It’s easy to stretch the bias out of shape while sewing and then again while folding. Handle with care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

