New Season Vogue Patterns – Fall 2012

The new vogue patterns are out! Without further ado here’s my two cents worth on what I would make and what I think of them:

V1316

20120726-162812.jpg
I think this looks like a lot of work – recommended for “average” sewists – indeed

V1315

20120726-163148.jpg
A nice loosing fitting jersey material dress. Looks comfortable and can be dressed up

V1312

20120726-163544.jpg
THIS PHOTO IS HILARIOUS. I mean how can anyone call it ‘high fashion’!? Again, it looks comfortable but the economist in me thinks – is this a waste of material?? Also this only suits hour-glass figures (according to the style guide) I think this may be telling…

V1313

20120726-163918.jpg
This is my favourite so far. I like the ‘mod’ style and the exposed zipper especially. I don’t know if I’d make it in different fabrics though…

V1314

20120726-164223.jpg
ANOTHER jersey fabric dress. Is there a theme appearing?

V1317

20120726-164417.jpg
LOVE THIS DRESS. I think of the whole collection this is my favourite. I know I already said that, but really this is. The shape, the bow, the neckline – it all works in my mind. I’ll be buying this one for sure.

V1320

20120726-164643.jpg
When I first saw this I liked it, but upon reflection I think it was the houndstooth I liked!

V1321

20120726-164844.jpg
Despite the fact that this coat is described as “very loosing fitting” I’m very drawn to it. I think I like the drama of the collar and the shoulders. Practicality?

V1322

20120726-165059.jpg
Glad to see a cape pattern for this season. I think the right kind of person could pull this off, but not me. You need swagger to wear this.

V1323

20120726-165343.jpg

20120726-165354.jpg
This pattern is for the pants and shirt. Alas its a no and maybe/ no from me. Maybe/ no is for the shirt – I think this could work in a light cotton as a summer top. And hell no to the elasticated waistband pants!

V1324

20120726-165700.jpg
This pattern is also for the top and skirt. I’m really undecided on this one. I quite like the top and skirt but I wonder if they look too OTT together? If I was in the corporate world then I guess it would be different.

V1325

20120726-170013.jpg

20120726-170018.jpg
Whilst I don’t think I’d make a suit for myself I’m totally sold on the blouse. I have been seeking out a pussy bow pattern for a while now so I’m glad to see vogue has answered my plea to the universe! I would follow suit (hilarious pun, I know) and also make it out of a silk or silk-like fabric.

So that’s what I think. What do you think of the new patterns??

25 thoughts on “New Season Vogue Patterns – Fall 2012”

  1. Holy moly! I don’t think I could wear most these (or would want to) or make them. The red dress is my favourite and I don’t mind the houndstooth coat. But seriously I’m not sure what Vogue were thinking…

    Like

  2. I just saw the new line today myself– lots of good designs, I think, especially the Donna Karan ones. Love the cape and the black/white dress! But I think my favorite is the color-blocked one (the first one here). Of course, I’d have to use a completely different color palette…

    Like

  3. I also really like that red dress. I also like the houndstooth jacket – and not just because of the fabric. I like the yoke/dropped shoulder effect – it’s mid-century-ish with great contemporary style. I really dislike that cape – my advice to its designer: either make a cape or make a tailored jacket, but please don’t try to combine them – it doesn’t work.
    Finally – you would look lovely in that blouse!
    PS – I vote yes for that gorgeous coat with the big collar (1321) – it’s a statement-maker!

    Like

  4. Well… I am a little disappointed with the new Vogue patterns … I like the red dress as well – vintage – 1950’s – elements making it looks very classy.

    Like

  5. A nice round up of the new seasons patterns. I think the houndstooth check coat looks very like a Burda magazine pattern I made up a few years ago – I will have to check it out later.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Like

  6. Love the red dress, and the last blouse!
    Totally agree on picture with the black dress – what a ridiculous pose! How is that supposed to make any dress look good?

    Like

Leave a Reply

