Florence + the Pre Raphaelites

Ok I know- I’m a terrible student. Last night I, again, missed my sewing class. But I have a far better excuse this time. I went to see Florence and the Machine!!! In my defence I booked these tickets months ago. Far before I booked myself into Sew, Sew, Sew! And in case you were wondering – Yes she was amazing!

In honour of her amazing-ness I thougth I’d wirte a post about Florence Welch. To me Florence and the Machine is a lot like a Pre-Raphealite painting. She is fair skinned, has red hair and many of her songs, like the Pre-Raphaelite paintings, are deep and moving.

This is my favourite right now:

Sometimes I’m not sure whether it is just me that sees these things or if her stylists have modelled her look on a particular theme. But I can find at least one other blogger that has also seen this connection (here for link to their blog post).

Here’s an example of what I mean. Below is Florence Welch and under that is Beata Beatrix by Dante Gabriel Rossetti (who had a pretty interesting life if you’re interested in reading about it) and then another photo of Florence. Both are fair, have red, thick wavy hair, soulful expressions and are in mystical settings. The women are in sharp focus in all images with the backgrounds blurred out.

Can you see it too, or is it just me?

Wow I got so distracted that I didn’t even get to tell you that I wore my Blue Velvet Vintage-inspred dress to the concert! Will have to blog about it tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Florence + the Pre Raphaelites”

  1. I had noticed it as well and had done the same thing; assumed it was probably only me who had put the two together. I thought she looked more like the Jane Morris pictures but then her face is in pretty much all his paintings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

