Sewing Class: Week One

A few months ago I was talking with a colleague of mine about sewing. I mentioned that whilst I enjoy sewing I don’t have much in the ‘skills’ department. Not for lack of trying… I just don’t have a neighbour I can ask, or mother or sister who sews, or really anyone who I can ask for sewing advise.

Her advice: Join a class. She’s so wise.

So yesterday was my first class of Sew, Sew, Sew! (Great name, right?) It’s a night class held at the local high school. We all brought along our own patterns and fabric etc and the tutor went around the class helping us.

I brought this pattern with me:

McCalls 6564, circa 1960: Dress consists of three main pieces plus facings, has long darts at back and front. Neckline is rounded at front, dips to low V at back. Center back zipper and vent in seam. I’m going to make the shorter version

I’m going to make it out of the navy velvet I bought in Wellington a little while ago.

I didn’t get very far in the class, as I find that laying out and cutting the pattern is the most time consuming part of sewing for me. Also, as this pattern is a size 14 I had to add a 1/4 inch to the bust pattern pieces and 1/2 inch to the waist and hip pattern pieces. I just added these to the side seams of pieces as the adjustments were only small.

Things I learnt:
Vintage patterns come in one size – you will always need to alter the pattern pieces (unless you have a oddly perfect body)
Fold the right sides of the fabric together when cutting the pattern. This is so the markings are on the wrong side of the fabric which you look at whilst sewing. (Logical, right?)
 

8 thoughts on “Sewing Class: Week One”

Leave a Reply

