Capes – Yay or Nay?

Recently i read a blog post by one of my favourite bloggers Erica Bunker. She posted a cape that she had made which was inspired by one Victoria Beckham had been seen in. So this is my question – capes, hot or not? (she looked totally gorgeous in hers FYI)

Here is the pattern for the one that Erica made. I particularly like the short version and that it’s in cream vogue 8776:

20120220-081651.jpg.

I’m less keen on the shape of this one but the collar might make it easier to wear maccalls 6446:

20120220-082211.jpg

I could also make something like 1974 vintage pattern which combines the conventional collar shape and nice shape:

20120220-084008.jpg

I’m having some difficulty winning people over to the idea so genuine opinion. Are capes gorgeous or past their time?

14 thoughts on “Capes – Yay or Nay?”

  1. I love capes…so much that I plan to make one soon even if I live in hot, humid Manila!!! I have the same McCall 6446 but I haven’t made it yet, I also have the Simplicity E2030 but I prefer the McCall one. 🙂

    Like

  2. Capes are a big fat yes! I’m currently selling a 20s fringed one and I KNOW I’m going to regret it in a major way eventually. But the more vintage I sell the more I’m forced to make my own stuff. I really want a cape with armholes like in that pattern. Very Blair Waldorf : p.

    Like

Leave a Reply

